DIY Doctor

Wiring a Socket Using 2.5mm Twin Single Earth Cable

Postby Salty37 » Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:38 pm

Flummoxed by what should be a simple wiring job! Trying to run the cable from an existing double socket a distance of about 8m to a new double socket in the garage. Existing comes from an RCD with 2 red, 2 blue and 2 earth into the socket. The second set of wires feeds 2 on/switches serving a water feature and the greenhouse. Couldn’t get 3 wires in to this socket ( didn’t seem safe anyway) so opted to put a 3pin plug on the end of the cable. Result - Nothing at the new socket! Plug checked. Fuzes checked. Existing socket checked and serving other devices
Advice please
Salty37
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:43 pm


Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby ericmark » Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:39 am

Old colours red and black, new colours brown and blue, so it would seem a mixture old and new which is not normal, so would guess you have not got all cores.

Normally a non fuses spur is limited to 3 meters, so at 10 meters should be a fused connection unit (FCU) so may be simply blown a fuse?
ericmark
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2228
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Llanfair Caereinion, Mid Wales.


Postby Salty37 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:28 pm

Many thanks. An FCU it is then. Will report success..........or otherwise.
Salty37
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:43 pm


Postby Salty37 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:23 pm

Inaccurate info given. Should have said 2 red and 2 black into the existing switch. New cable is of course 1 brown, 1 blue and an earth. How then do I create a further double socket some 8m on the other side of the garage?
Salty37
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:43 pm


Postby Mr White » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:59 pm

To add a spur, you connect the brown with the reds, and the blue with the blacks the earths all go together. They should also be covered in green/yellow sleeving.

At the new socket Brown is live, Blue is neutral and earth is earth.

Please tell me you are connecting to an existing SOCKET not as you typed, switch.
Mr White
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
14%
Posts: 570
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm


Postby Salty37 » Sun Dec 15, 2019 11:28 am

Thanks. Got all of that. Puzzled by talk of an FCD earlier in the thread. I am looking to install a socket 8m away from the existing one so appreciate the advice about 2.5m cable and the need for fuses. That said, isn’t a FCD a switch? Do I need to install that between the existing and new sockets?
Salty37
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:43 pm


Postby Mr White » Sun Dec 15, 2019 9:24 pm

FCD? or is that another TYPO?

I take it you mean (as ericmark said) FCU?

No its not just a switch, it is actually a device to hold/carry a fuse, some have switches, some don't. The fuse is the important part.
Mr White
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
14%
Posts: 570
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm



Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides
  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


 
  • Related Topics