Help Needed Building Alcove Shelves
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
tkmk
Apprentice
Apprentice

Help Needed Building Alcove Shelves

by tkmk » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:54 pm

Hi guys

I'll admit upfront that I'm a diy newb. I'm looking to put shelves up in our alcoves. They will just be simple shelves supported by brackets, as we are going to place all our books on them (we have lots of books!). So I just wanted help in terms of...

1) Is this a simple job for a newb?

2) What tools are required? I think safety googles, mitre saw, wood, screws (solid wall), paint -- what else?

3) Where is the best place to buy thick planks to use for shelving that I can easily paint?

All advice appreciated!

Thanks
Tim

thedoctor

Re: Help Needed Building Alcove Shelves

by thedoctor » Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:41 pm

Hi

We do have a project page on how this can be done if you are interested, see our building shelves project here: https://www.diydoctor.org.uk/projects/makingshelves.htm

Hope this helps

tkmk
Apprentice
Apprentice

by tkmk » Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:52 pm

Thanks. I did have a look and found some useful stuff. I was hoping for more personal input but will re-read.

thedoctor

by thedoctor » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:32 am

The point of a 50,000 page website is to alleviate the burden on the 1000 questions we get every day. We try and cover every topic by reading every popular forum post and publishing answers in web page format. To act as a personal advice service for free would be a little beyond any tradesmans remit I feel. All the tools are here. You will need to drill for the bearer fixings, screw the fixings in, level the bearers in both directions, cut the timber square, sit the shelf on the bearer and fix it, cut round obsticles such as pipes etc if required, sand everything down and paint it.

https://www.diydoctor.org.uk/DIY-superst ... undle.html

tkmk
Apprentice